within film within site

The Music District: Film Facts

1996, Betacam SP
56 minutes, Color
Description: The Music District is a one-hour documentary profiling four African American traditional music groups practicing and performing for fans and congregants in the neighborhood churches and nightclubs of Washington, D.C. The film features the Orioles (r&b quartet); Junk Yard Band (go-go); The Kings of Harmony (United House of Prayer shout band); and The Four Echoes (jubilee quartet). A film by Susan Levitas from California Newsreel.
Featuring: Carnice Wootten, Carnice Wootten, Carnice Wootten, Carnice Wootten
Copyright: 1996, Susan Levitas
Filmmaker(s): Susan Levitas
Produced by: Susan Levitas
Cinematography: Thom Wolf
Editing: Susan Levitas, Barbara Burst, Neil Mean
Sound: John Tyler, John Paulson
Funding: National Endowment for the Arts/Folk Arts Program; D.C. Commission of the Arts and Humanities; Maryland State Arts Council; United Black Fund; Virginia Foundation for the Humanities; Smithsonian Institution/Office of Telecommunications; Smithsonian Insti
Awards: Cine Golden Eagle; American Anthropological Association Award

Distribution: California Newsreel
Main Office, 500 Third Street, Suite 505, San Francisco, CA 94107
Distributor Email: Contact
Distributor Website: California Newsreel
Distributor Telephone: 877-811-7495

Archives & Stock Footage: Susan Levitas

Archives & Stock Footage Email: Contact
Archives & Stock Footage Website: Susan Levitas
Archives & Stock Footage Telephone: 504-866-0708

Permanent link to this page.